DOWNLOAD: OkyDoky & Radio KVM – “Tasjeelat Moutafarriqa”

Artwork by: Fouad R. Mezher (2010)

This week, I was finally able to get my hands on a release by the eclectic electronic musicmen, OkyDoky and Radio KVM. On the inside of the cover, I spied this beautiful symbol right here.

Consent? Check. Lawfulness? Check. Duty calls! Download.

This album is a collection of live recordings “recorded live around Beirut 2009-2010”. Two of the recordings feature AA the Preacherman rapping as well. First of all, I must say that for stuff that was created by pushing pads, tweaking knobs, and sliding sliders right then and there, on-the-spot, and not crafted in a studio with all the time in the world to edit and nitpick, it’s very well-executed. Only in “Akhou L’Sharmouta” can I honestly say there were moments when I felt that the rythm was drowned out in  a cluster of tempos, but it’s live after all, and these little imperfections are what reassure you of that… oh, and crowd noises. Despite this however, “Sharmouta” is perhaps my favorite piece of these recordings, because of the off-color vocal sample and wicked breakbeat-oud-Buddhist chant combo. Sampling is cool! Sample more! Khazzi2 bazzi2 lazzi2! The rest of the tracks are more electro, though in that category, I would say “Qarrir” is pretty cool (with that dirty bass and screeching synth). I must also mention that all of the recordings are available for streaming online on OkyDoky’s Myspace and Facebook pages, save for two, which would be “Water” and “Ein Souda”.

All in all, I’m glad the duo have finally released something and hope this stuff can be brought into the studio some day.

7 thoughts on “DOWNLOAD: OkyDoky & Radio KVM – “Tasjeelat Moutafarriqa”

  1. Hmm is anyone else having problems with the images on
    this blog loading? I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

  2. Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your weblog. You have some really great posts and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to
    write some content for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please blast me an email if interested. Thanks!

  3. Hello there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Looking through this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept preaching about this. I most certainly will forward this information to him. Pretty sure he will have a very good read. Thank you for sharing!

  4. Fantastic website you have here but I was curious about if you
    knew of any community forums that cover the same topics discussed in this article?
    I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get suggestions from other experienced people that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Bless you!

  5. I have an enthusiastic synthetic eye just for detail and can foresee issues before they occur.

  6. hey there and thank you for your information – I
    have certainly picked up anything new from right here.
    I did however expertise a few technical issues using this website, since I experienced to reload the site many times previous to I could get it to load correctly.
    I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I am complaining, but slow loading
    instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and could damage
    your high quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords.
    Anyway I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for much more of your
    respective interesting content. Ensure that you update this again very
    soon.

  7. I believe this iis one of the such a llot vital info for
    me. And i am happy studying your article. But should commentary on some common things, The site style is wonderful, the articles is in point of fact excellent :
    D. Just right activity, cheers

Leave a Reply

