Mashrou3 Leila – “Clint Middle-Eastwood” (DOWNLOAD Live Bootleg)

This is the audio from a video I shot myself during Mashrou3 Leila’s performance in the Byblos International Festival on July 9th, when they shocked the universe/ planet/ country/ city/ people who were there, by “covering” (and I use the term loosely) the song “Clint Eastwood” by Gorillaz, who will be playing Byblos later this month.

The audio is not from the beginning of the song, as I was flustered by the pure majesty, and fumbled trying to turn on the camera and set it to video-mode, but every part that’s cut out later appears, so don’t worry…

I was tempted to name it “كلينت ايستوود”, but then realized it wouldn be a bitch for non-Arabic speakers to search for, so I officially declare it be known as the oh-so-cheesy “Clint Middle-Eastwood” . No further negotiations please, it’s already growing on you…

DOWNLOAD!

Thoughts:

I was expecting old songs. I was expecting new songs (not sure what they would sound like of course, but aware that I would hear some originals). Never did I expect a “cover”. Noone did. But it wasn’t a cover really. The main tune was incorporated, but not every note was played as it is in the original. Some parts were missing, others newly added. Now the lyrics… Where do I start? There was a semi-translation of the original chorus: “Mabsout, ma bini shi, mkhabba el shams, bi kirshi, ma ili 3azi, bas mish mtawwal, ghadan yawman afdal”. The original chorus doesn’t mention “my belly” (kirshi), but the neat thing about that bit is, I got this mental image of them trying to translate it, and coming up with “bi kisi” (in my bag), but then feeling it sounds a bit off, they subtly substitute “kisi” for “kirshi”, and though completely unrelated to the original, still sounds absurd enough to come out of the mouth of Hamed Sinno in a Mashrou3 Leila song. They made it their own, both musically and lyrically. But this is just mildly-amusing when you hear the rest. Sinno… raps. Well maybe “sorta-speaks-fast-rythmically-rhyming his sentences together”. But I like to think that was a rap. It was quite unintelligible honestly. I’d take Del tha Funkee Homosapien in the original over MC Hamod (or Sinn-O A.K.A The Original Sinnah) any day. Or or or! They should re-do it with Fareeq el Atrash! Mashrou3 el Atrash? Fareeq Leila? Fareeq el Masrou3a Leila? Well either way, it wasn’t meant to be perfect, and was pretty neat overall. 

I don’t honestly believe we will hear it live again, because I think it was played for the occassion of being in Byblos and Gorillaz themselves being there later on. But honestly, I would love if it were played again. Not to the point were it overshadows their originals (that’s simply impossible though) and people scream “Clint! Clint! Clint!” at every show, but just so that it isn’t swept under the carpet for good. It is simply splendid and left me in awe.

9 thoughts on “Mashrou3 Leila – “Clint Middle-Eastwood” (DOWNLOAD Live Bootleg)

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Mashrou3 Leila – “Clint Middle-Eastwood” (DOWNLOAD Live Bootleg) « Feel Notes -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Show Review: Mashrou3 Leila @ Byblos International Festival (July 9th, 2010) « Feel Notes

  3. Great going .. i just love your site

  4. An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto a friend who had
    been conducting a little research on this. And he actually ordered me breakfast due to the fact that
    I stumbled upon it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this.
    … Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending the time to discuss
    this topic here on your web site.

  5. For now, all you may be able to do it manage the pain.

    the one study in this category has a PEDro score of 8.
    Chronic back pain is the cause of 14% of long-term disability in the UK.

  6. such studies printed on the limpid container or cartridge.

    the electronic cigarette company The atomizer is also creditworthy for giving off a water system vaporisation at
    the tip of is, these things are real uncomplicated to use.

  7. Hi, after reading this amazing piece of writing i
    am as well happy to share my familiarity here with mates.

Leave a Reply

